Tags

, , , , , ,

Tom FordIf there’s anything I detest more than hot weather is humidity. Unfortunately, Sydney has been experiencing them both in abundance lately. I lather myself in sunscreen before heading out and inevitably, search out for fragrances that play nice with my trusty sunscreen rather than vice versa. Typical hot weather friendly citrus fragrances tend to at best get engulfed by the metallicness of my sunscreen and at worst, turn into something not entirely too far off from stale lemons. So, it’s during weather like this that I reach out to Estee Lauder Azuree Soleil Eau Fraiche Skinscent, a fragrance released as part of a limited 19-piece makeup collection by Tom Ford for Estee Lauder in 2007. I haven’t checked out other pieces in the range including the much talked-about body oil and had to practically pry the last remaining bottle off the Estee Lauder salesperson in 2008 before it disappeared off the shelves permanently.

I so often pair Azuree Soleil with sunscreen that it seems like a new scent to me now reviewing it on its own. Azuree Soleil smells mainly of creamy coconuts and white florals. Gardenia, jasmine and magnolia combine to evoke a lushness set against muted citrus notes. Caramel and soft wood notes surround the tropical heart but never quite permeates it. Worn on its own, the creamy floral notes remain strong and lasts several hours. Worn over sunscreen, the citrus notes fade away more quickly but the remaining scent seems to last even longer.

The blue of Azuree Soleil’s bottle seems to allude to the beach. “Tropical” does spring to mind, perhaps because of the creamy coconut note. But the beach? Perhaps less so for me. I don’t detect the salt-water note that many others seem to detect, yet I often pair it with sunscreen. So perhaps there’s something in that theory. Incidentally, the turquoise blue of the bottle also makes me think of it as a precedent to Tom Ford’s other sea / coastal-inspired scent Neroli Portofino, though of course the latter is a completely different scent, housed in an even more luxurious dark turquoise bottle with a price-tag to match. I like Neroli Portofino but not as much as Azuree Soleil. There’s just something in it that makes me actually almost want to lose myself in the heat and humidity of Sydney’s summer. Almost.