Tags

, , , , , ,

To the Loved and Those Who Love – Happy Valentine’s Day weekend!  While I can’t say I did anything particularly exciting myself, the passing of Valentine’s Day did get me thinking about the strength and fragility of love and the vast space that lie between them. Love can mean safety without numbers, an intangible inner strength that can shield us against the sometimes harsh realities of our daily lives. Yet, it is so delicate and at times so fleeting, that all we can do is treasure and savour as much as we can before it, or we, return to dust.

Hamsa Perfume

I was recently kindly sent a sample of Hamsa Perfume for consideration. Their website describes it as “an exquisitely pleasing scent, carefully crafted with essential oils from cultures around the world….The combination of the healing powers of essential oils and the good fortune from the Hamsa symbol make Hamsa Perfume more than just another fragrance.” Its combined notes of white lotus, frankincense, blackcurrant and coffee is supposed to represent Eastern, Western and Middle Eastern cultures. Each note also apparently has its own healing properties, described in more detail here. The concept of “Hamsa” is derived from the palm-shaped amulet that adorns its bottle and used as a sign of protection.

If Hamsa Perfume was love, it would be an innocent fleeting love. It starts off with the mild floral of white lotus and a definite fruity concoction, with the promise of a new beginning. I was hoping for some of its listed darker notes to come in to ground and temper the scent, but they never eventuated. Nor does its sweetness intensify. Instead, it remains quite happy to skirt around full blown passion, choosing instead to stay within its being, never quite pushing outside of comfort. Within an hour or two, the fragile corridor passes and I’m left with only a whisper.

TokyoMilk Destiny No. 79

Never having much luck with TokyoMilk, I was surprised that several scents within their Dark series caught my attention and I found myself purchasing Destiny No. 79 (in a rollerball dispenser) on a whim when I was at Sephora in New York last November. Of course, smelling it now, I realise why I purchased it – it smells almost identical to scented beads that came to my possession when I was a child. I guess I never really outgrew some of my first loves. Apart from Destiny’s listed notes of freshly cut ginger, honeysuckle, jasmine and davana, a milky tea undercurrent seems to round them altogether. The scent stays linear with decent projection but I often just roll it on my wrists, simply for my own enjoyment. This is the scent of my childhood, the scent of what my feelings were all about, when I still could trust only with my heart.

Hamsa Perfume image taken from http://www.hamsa-perfume.com/concept.html